Industry Associations Urge an Immediate End to the Government Shutdown

Washington, D.C. – A number of group tour and travel associations came together this week to urge Congress and the Administration to end the government shutdown immediately and end the harmful economic effects to the United States and its tourism industry.

On behalf of the undersigned organizations, we urge Congress and the Administration to work together to immediately end the partial government shutdown. This shutdown is unnecessarily causing harm to the nation’s economy. We recognize that neither side wants to concede to the other, but this prolonged political fight will have negative impacts on the country – and our industries – for months and possibly years to come. Our members are already experiencing hardships and loss of revenue from the shutdown.

According to data from the U.S. Travel Association, in 2017 travel generated $2.4 trillion for the U.S. economy and supported 15.6 million jobs. Our various tour and travel organizations play a key role in generating that economic impact. Not only are the 800,000 federal workers impacted, but some of the most visited tourist attractions in our nation are closed — including various National Parks, the Smithsonian Museums and the National Zoo. The National Parks system is already experiencing a maintenance backlog and now the shutdown compromises park services, visitor safety and maintenance. No business is unaffected by this government shutdown.

We call on Congress and the Administration to act swiftly to reopen the government to get our fellow Americans back to work and keep our economy growing.

For more information contact:

Peter Pantuso, President & CEO, American Bus Association, PPantuso@buses.org

Lisa Simon, Executive Director, International Inbound Travel Association, lisa.simon@inboundtravel.org

Bronwyn Wilson, President, International Motorcoach Group, bwilson@imgcoach.com

Pam Inman, President, National Tour Association, pam.inman@ntastaff.com

Doug Switzer, President & CEO, Ontario Motor Coach Associationdoug@omca.com

Carylann Assante, Executive Director, Student Youth Travel Association, cassante@syta.org

Stacy Tetschner, President & CEO, United Motorcoach Association, stetschner@uma.org

Terry Dale, President, United States Tour Operators Association, tdale@ustoa.com

About the American Bus Association

The American Bus Association (ABA) is the trade organization of the intercity bus industry, with more than 1,000 motorcoach and tour company members in the United States and Canada. Its members operate charter, tour, regular route, airport express, special operations and contract services. Another 2,800 members are travel and tourism organizations and suppliers of bus products and services who work in partnership with the North American motorcoach industry.

Contact

Melanie Hinton, Director of Communications & Media Relations, ABA
Office: (202) 218-7220
Email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)