American Bus Association Selects New Chairman, Vice Chair and Treasurer

Press Release
American Bus Association Selects New Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Treasurer
(January 26, 2015)

Following the election of the ABA Board of Directors by the General Membership, ABA’s Board elected a new Chairman, Vice Chairman and Treasurer during the Board’s recent meeting in St. Louis.

John Meier, the President of Badger Bus and Coach, based in Madison, Wisconsin, is ABA’s new Chairman. Don DeVivo, the President of DATTCO, a motorcoach and transportation company in New Britain, Connecticut, is ABA’s Vice Chairman. Both Mr. Meier and Mr. DeVivo will serve three-year terms.

Badger Bus and Coach operates a variety of services in the Midwest including charters, fixed route service and school bus operations. Mr. Meier joined the ABA Board in 2004 and served as Marketplace Chairman in 2008. Mr. Meier’s appointment as Chairman shows once again ABA’s interest in representation in all areas of the country, as well as for all types of motorcoach operators, small, medium and large.

Mr. Meier was previously Vice Chairman working with Tom JeBran, whose term as Chairman expired in January. Mr. JeBran is the President of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, based Trans-Bridge Lines. He remains on the Board of Directors. 

Craig Lentzsch, the Executive Chairman of All Aboard America! Holdings in New Orleans, Louisiana, is the new Secretary/Treasurer. Mr. Meier, Mr. DeVivo and Mr. Lentzsch have had extensive careers in the motorcoach industry.

The ABA Board of Directors added three new at-large members to the Board’s Executive Committee: Steve Haddad, President/CEO of Bieber Transportation; Gene Berardi, Jr., President/CEO of Adirondack Trailways; and Stephanie Lee, President of Group Sales Box Office/ Across America.

Stephanie Lee is a Travel Segment Board Member, and this is the first time a travel industry leader has been added to the Executive Committee. Her appointment reflects ABA’s commitment to travel and tourism and its significant importance to the motorcoach industry. In 2015, the Board changed its bylaws to include a Travel Industry Board Member on its Executive Committee. Previously, the Executive Committee had been comprised only of bus operator members.

Two new members joined the Board for three-year terms. Camilla Morris is the Manager of Oneonta Bus Lines, in Oneonta, New York. Terry Fischer is President of Transportation Charter Services in Orange, California.

In addition to his ABA Board service, Bryan Cole, President of Super Holiday Tours in Orlando, Florida, was elected to serve a one-year term as ABA’s Marketplace Advisory Committee Chairman. ABA’s 2016 Marketplace will be held in Louisville, Kentucky, January 9-12, 2016.

Four members left the Board after the conclusion of their terms. ABA thanks Woody Blunt, Ron Eyre, Sara Hamlin, and Bruce Neuharth for their dedicated service to ABA and the industry. Mr. Blunt and Mr. Eyre were named Honorary Board Members in recognition of their years of distinguished service.

Combined, these rotating members had more than 70 years of experience on ABA’s Board of Directors. Mr. Blunt and Mr. Eyre both previously served as ABA Chairmen.

“ABA and its members are very excited to have John Meier, Don DeVivo and Craig Lentzsch in key leadership positions within the industry and association. All three have proven themselves to be exceptionally capable motorcoach operators. Their companies always strive to provide passengers with the safest and the best experience. I know John, Don and Craig’s commitment to excellence will continue as they become more involved in the policy and legislative initiatives at ABA in 2015 and beyond,” said ABA President and CEO Peter Pantuso. “I am also pleased that Steve, Gene and Stephanie will take on increased leadership roles within ABA, and we welcome Camilla, Terry and Bryan to their new positions.”

“Tom JeBran served our industry well for six years,” said John Meier. “He has spent hundreds of hours working closely with me, with ABA’s President and CEO Peter Pantuso, with ABA’s staff, with the Board of Directors, and with many others. I will bring the same dedication to the position as Tom and many other previous ABA Chairmen have.”

About the American Bus Association

The American Bus Association (ABA) is the trade organization of the intercity bus industry, with more than 1,000 motorcoach and tour company members in the United States and Canada. Its members operate charter, tour, regular route, airport express, special operations and contract services. Another 2,800 members are travel and tourism organizations and suppliers of bus products and services who work in partnership with the North American motorcoach industry.

About the ABA Board of Directors and Executive Committee

The Board of Directors of the American Bus Association is instrumental in providing leadership and direction for the members of ABA and the motorcoach, tour, and travel industry. The Executive Committee provides oversight, advice and coordination of the development and implementation of strategic initiatives and related projects by the Board of Directors. For more information, go to


Melanie Hinton, Director of Communications & Media Relations, ABA
Office: (202) 218-7220
Email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)